Guinness to go vegan

- Leadership - Nov 06, 2015

Guinness has confirmed its famous Irish stout will be suitable for vegans from the end of 2016 onwards. The manufacturing process currently involves using isinglass (from fish bladders) to filter the beer.

A spokesperson for 256-year-old Guinness told CNN: "Isinglass has been used widely within the brewing industry as a means of filtration for decades. However, because of its use we could not label Guinness as suitable for vegetarians and have been looking for an alternative solution for some time."

Follow @ManufacturingGL 

 

 

Like what you see! Signup for our weekly newsletter

Comments(0)